Finally some sense

Check the poll results on Stuff Oh I miss the sanity of home at the moment. 

Actually I’m wondering when I’m going to get kicked out since Costello seems to have declared war on those that don’t conform to Australian values.  Apparently this is only members of the Muslim faith but the values he’s talking about don’t seem to be terribly clear so I’m unsure as to how he’s able to pick who’s not conforming to them.

From what I’ve been able to figure out about traditional Australian values so far it seems to be all about stealing land, raping, murdering, spreading disease and being a raving alcoholic.  So if this country starts getting back to their core values I will probably leave voluntarily.

Then again I’ll probably join the thousands of Australians who seem to have a different outlook on life than their Treasurer and stand up for a slightly more positive future.

Then maybe I’ll get kicked out πŸ˜‰

4 responses to “Finally some sense

  1. Yup. I’m Australian and I reject these ‘values’. I’ve asked to be sent to the Bahamas or something. Either that or they have to invent a country, change my records to say I was born there, and then send me back πŸ™‚
    Actually I believe that if all humans are individual and different, then values will differ from person to person. Therefore there is no such thing as Australian values. People should have their own values like they have their own identity – to hell with this patriotic shroud of ‘Australian’ – it’s just a damn patch of earth. It’s not alive. People are alive.
    In any case, I was told tolerance was an Australian value. Therefore I believe Costello is rejecting Australian values by promoting Australian values (…). Anyone else interested in excommunicating him?

  2. “From what I’ve been able to figure out about traditional Australian values so far it seems to be all about stealing land, raping, murdering, spreading disease and being a raving alcoholic.”

    And buggering sheep.

  3. Yeah haven’t spent enought time in the country yet πŸ˜‰

  4. I thought buggering sheep was a NZ stereotype!

    In Warrnambool, far west Victoria that is, a guy got caught buggering a horse. Then another guy was caught doing the same thing to a cow.
    See: Australia doesn’t condone multi-culturalism, but it promotes interspecies breeding. :/

Leave a Reply

